December 10, 2008

  • I got to scrub in with Andrew today for a cruciate repair...and it really is amazing to see a good surgery being performed by a skilled surgeon. I guess that's why he makes all the big bucks, he's a good surgeon. Was neat though; I was petrified of him, but he didn't fire tons of questions or anything...just chatted like a normal person. Crazy.

    Week has been tumultuous; I like this clinic. It's not as 'hands on' as I'd like, but in a way, I think it's just me not asking to do stuff enough. I'm definitely not as proactive as I could be, but I think these folks like me well enough as is. I guess I'll see what they have to say on evals. I'm curious to see what Richard has to say.

    Other than that just feeling the same ups and downs as usual.

    Mark is looking for work now, and we're hopeful that he'll get something soonish. It sucks to feel like money is real tight, but we have it pretty good compared to most.

    Have been really shit about work lately. I just hate feeling like an incompetent retard all the time. Not just during the day in the clinic, but I get to come home and feel even worse when dealing with work and the missed deadlines and broken programs that need debugging. I dunno. I'm sure if I just devoted more time to it, it'd be fine, but I just hate it. I'm entertaining the thought of quitting, but I don't think I can. Partly because I want to get out of that constant feeling of being poor and making money is the only way to really resolve it. I don't think my requirements for daily life are all that extravagant, but no matter how much money I make, I never see any of it...I still feel poor; like I can't just relax. I guess I'm just paying for all those trips back to LA and being spoiled by having my own place for 2 years instead of flatting. Oh well. Another reason I want to keep going is because it pays damn well. Even though I stress about it all the time, when there's nothing to do, I'd still make enough to cover rent for the month - just 8 hours of work for all that. And since Mark is transitioning...I dunno. I'm just conflicted. Working makes me stressed, not working and being poor makes me stressed. No winning.

    Ideally, we'll win the lotto and live happily ever after.

    But until then, it's back to work...back to life.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories